Frequently Asked Questions
If you have questions that are not covered in this FAQ please contact us at email@example.com
The Intembeko ORCID Hub is a web service that assists the research organisations you're associated with to authoritatively assert these relationships in your ORCID record. Whether you are a student, a member of staff, these relationships can be written to your ORCID record, with the source of the information displayed as coming from the organisation involved. This benefits you as it proves that you have a bona fide affiliation with that institution.
Firstly, make sure the organisation you’re associated with is shown as using the Hub. For a researcher belonging to a SAFIRE-member organisation, simply log in and use the Seamless Access Service to select your home organisation where you'll be able to use your institutional credentials to log in and be returned, authenticated to the Hub.
If you have logged into the Hub using your institutional credentials simply click the button to "Give Your Organisation
Permission To Access Your ORCID Record" and follow the on-screen prompts. The Hub uses the information reported about you
by your organisation: if you're reported as being "staff" and/or "faculty" an employment affilation is written; if you're reported
as being a "student", an education affilation is written; and if neither employment nor education can be detected the Hub
will show you a warning.
If you've come to the Hub through an email invitation, you've already given your organisation the necessary permissions. Once you have done this, on signing into your ORCID record, you will see that your employment (or education if you are a student) now has an entry with the source of that information being your institution.
Anyone can sign up for an ORCID iD and say that they are a student or staff at a respected organisation. By allowing your organisation to connect to your ORCID record and verify that you are, indeed, affiliated to that place, the source of this information in your record is more credible than if it is entered by you, manually. By providing an authenticated ORCID iD to your organisation, you're making their work easier and can expect them to be putting processes in place to draw administrative content from your ORCID record to make your life easier as well.
Your ORCID record belongs to you! If you don't want your organisation to connect to it, you are free to say "No" or to revoke permission if you've already given it. If, at any point, you wish to stop an organisation from accessing your ORCID record, simply log in to your ORCID record and, from the ‘Account Settings’ page, delete the organisation’s entry from your ‘Trusted Organisations’ list. Once removed, the organisation will no longer be able to read your limited-access content or write to your ORCID record until they gain your permission again. If you want to remove yourself, and the record of your ORCID iD from the Hub, simply contact us and we'll delete your Hub record; please note however that information that you've made public in ORCID should be regarded as discoverable even if deleted or subsequently marked as private.
ORCID allows three setting of privacy, with each item in your record able to have its privacy setting specified. The three options are: public, i.e., anyone can see it; private, i.e., only you and the source can see it; and trusted-party, where the item is only visible to you, the source, and anyone you've given read-limited permission to.
The Hub requests permission to create and update activities. In the current ORCID schema (v2.0), activities encompass employment, education, funding and research works. By granting this permission, you're allowing the organisation to write to all four sections of your ORCID record.
The Hub requests long-term permission, as shown by the ticked box in the ORCID permission form stating "Unchecking this box will grant permission this time only". Long-term permissions last for 20 years, and will allow your organsiation to update the items it writes without requiring your intervention. Unchecking this box produces a permission that expires after an hour; i.e., to make changes after this, the organisation will need to get your permission again.
Your ORCID record really belongs to you! The default level of permission requested through the Hub is a combined ability to both "read your trusted-party information" and "create or update activities", where activities covers your affiliations, funding and research works. If, when asked by ORCID to "Authorize" or "Deny" the request, you select "Deny" you'll be returned to the Hub and given the option of granting lower level permissions, i.e., just "read your trusted-party information", and "know your ORCID iD".
In your ORCID record, go to 'account settings' and delete your organisation from the list of 'trusted organisations'. This will also remove it from your Hub connections. When you next visit your Hub profile while logged in with that organisation, you'll be offered the chance to "Give Your Organisation Permission To Access Your ORCID Record" again.
Yes, but like everything in your ORCID record you can choose which entry you make public.
Yes, definitely. Simply follow the on-screen prompt in the Hub to create an ORCID record when it asks you to sign in or create one.
Contact your institution’s ORCID administrator. If your dont know the Technical Contact, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org and we'll try to assist you.